Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

In life there is so much to worry about and be neurotic about. From politics, to the war, to the economy, to work or school, and just the getting through the day to day in life. It’s no wonder hair color companies and doctors make so much money. Ask anyone if they feel stressed out. Odds are you are going to get a resounding YES!

Lately I have been combating my stress, and you know what? It’s working. I couldn’t be happier. What I do doesn’t elimate the causes of stress, I still fight that war. What I do have is the key to wining the daily battle.

When I was small my mom used to recite the Serenity Prayer.  The shortned version goes something like this:

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.

The longer version is as follows:

God, give us grace to accept with serenity
the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things
which should be changed,
and the Wisdom to distinguish
the one from the other.

Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace,
Taking, as Jesus did,
This sinful world as it is,
Not as I would have it,
Trusting that You will make all things right,
If I surrender to Your will,
So that I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy with You forever in the next.

Amen.

 

Now when I have a stressor in front of me, I look at it, and I ask myself, can I change that? No. Then I ask, What can I change? Can I change something in the environment around it to make it easier to deal with? Can I change my outlook or my attitude? Odds are I can answer yes to one of those questions, I am thereby changing what I can.

I then give it to God. I have done what I can, there is no more that I can do. The rest is up to Him. I have to have faith that He will take care of it and of me.  I have always had a strong faith in God. Over the last few months I have been truly blessed to find that my relationship with him is growing and deepening and strenghthing. We talk more now, and I pray more, and I find that as I am doing these things that it is easier to let go what I can not change. It does not make sense to worry about what I can not fix.

I do truly believe that I have a mission and a purpose on this planet, and I know that deep inside of me I have to do what God has put me on this earth to do. I believe that I am here to help make other’s lives easier. Whether its in words or actions, I feel like my time here should be spent in the service of others.  Now I am not saying I am going to be the next Mother Teresa, hardly. What I am saying is that there is a big world out there, and there is a tremendous need for people to reach out to those with less. To help those people who cannot change their life situation, through making the changes that I can.

