Tags

, , , ,

Hello 2009!

Well its the start of a new year and time for new beginnings and new resolutions. This year I am not making any new resolutions. I am making new priorities in my life.

I am going to start paying more attention to the world around me. There is so much going on that people need to be aware of. My first step is to check the news. That was a disappointment. On the front pages I saw stories about couples’ boundaries and how to deal with farting and bathroom doors. Really? Really? That is so newsworthy it needs to make the front page of a major news network? To hell with global warming my spouse can’t close the bathroom door!

So then I go to another major news network and on their front page I find out that Britney Spears brother got hitched. Fantastic! Just what I needed to know.  Now I can go on, secure in myself that I have been informed about everything that I need to know about what is going on in the world.

Now I do realized I am just picking out stories for this blog, and yes there are other newsworthy features on their front pages. My question to you is this: Why are they there at all?Why when I was signed up for CNN Breaking News did I receive e-mails that Britney got a divorce and that Anna Nicole died? That is breaking news? Who cares? Brit Brit does not sign my paycheck, she doesn’t make decisions that affect me directly. She breaks laws, not makes them. So why am I hearing about her?

I think that it is very important that we know what is going on in the world around us. Like it or not this planet is rapidly becoming a smaller place, both in terms of resources and technology. We cannot afford to not look to see what everyone else is doing, and more importantly who they are doing it with. Keeping the blinders on helps no one, and if there is anyone in the world that can do whatever they set their mind to, its Americans and the United States.

