This week I just finished up my internship for my paralegal degree. It was an amazing experience. I learned a lot and filed more. I learned what I want in a job, and I learned what I don’t want. I want to work close to where I live. No more hellish commutes with people who have forgotten what a turn signal is, and why it’s there.

Most of all, what I want is time. I see now that that is what my education was buying me. Time to be able to be free from working to earn money to pay bills. Time to enjoy what I have worked so hard to earn. I will say this: I am grateful to all the people who have helped me and who believed in me when I didn’t believe in myself. I am grateful to those who had the strength to kick me in the butt and to keep kicking when I was too exhausted.

Mom –  I love you. Without you I would not be the woman I am. You are grace under fire and the epitome of unconditional love. You put up with me in all seasons, and moods, and loved me in spite of my many faults. God gave me just the right woman to be my mother. Soon we are going to take that vacation! My treat!

Dad – I miss you. You always encouraged me to learn and to be smart. You never failed to want me to get more sleep and to not turn out like you. Too late. I still don’t sleep much and prefer the night hours just the way you did. I know you are proud of me, and that when I walk off that stage you will be walking with me. You left me with a legacy of honesty and a tremendous work ethic. Thank you.

Laura & Steve  – In respect to the limited amount of space I have here, I am putting both of you into one category. Please know if I had unlimited space I could write a book to each of you thanking you. I thank you for believing in me. I thank you for seeing a girl who many years ago came to you shy, quiet,(and with hair that rivaled Cousin It), and knowing that she was not all she appeared to be. With your faith and prodding, I went on to become a student trustee, an objective thinker, and someone who saw more potential in themselves when they left they, then ever knew they had.

Christie – By the time we met I was ready for a change and you helped me to realize my goals and gave me the tools I needed to achieve. You gave me sage wisdom and advice. You reminded me that sometimes in order to reach the desired end I must be patient and willing to take on the world. As I step out into this new world your words will always be with me.

Marchae – You are more than my best friend, you are my family. You are my sounding board and if not for you I surely would have gone crazy, and had at least one ulcer by now. Thank you for taking my books from me and forcing me to go out to lunch. Thank you for staying up until the wee hours with me. My fondest memories of us so far is losing four hours in Wal-Mart walking and talking. I am still not sure how that time passed by so fast, or how my feet stood up in those heels. Thank you for being my pillar of faith when mine was in question. Your strength, faith, and diplomacy, are traits I strive to imitate. Your love of Yanni though, well you can keep that.  I’ve got Josh Groban.

God – Well we made it after all, didn’t we? I am sorry I doubted Your plans. Thank you for knowing the best for me. Thank you for loving me enough to give me the best for me. I heard a joke once. They said to make You laugh, make a plan. I must have had You in stitches. It’s a wonder You haven’t ruptured something. Thank you listening to me in the car. My commute will shorten, but our chats wont. I know that now starting new I will need You more than ever. I am not so foolish as to think I can do it alone. I have faith You will be there to carry me. You will be there when I am frustrated and hurting, when I am laughing, when I am crying. All my life  You have been with me.  Every second every moment. Now as I go on, I will need You to guide me to do Your will. I am blind Lord, You are my light, help me to see.

There are so many more people out there that would love to thank. Blame WordPress. To my family and my friends, I know I am always “busy”, but things will be slowing down now. Let’s do lunch! I miss you! Don’t worry I will e-mail an updated snapshot in case you forgot what I looked like.

To think that there will be a time to have people over, have dinner, and still get the laundry done is amazing. No longer will I have to choose between going for coffee on the weekend or going naked the next week to work. No longer will I have to plan a casual lunch a month and a half in advance. I am really gonna make it after all.

 

 

 

 

 

