I have a whole category of blogs here dedicated to the nastiness of people. Be it folks who are utterly grotesque in their public behaviors or just super rude, there is more than one way to qualify for this distinction. Over the last few months I have seen a few shining examples of this behavior. In this blog I will discuss two of them.

Mom and I were in search of some supper. It was a Thursday night and we were tired and our grocery supply held zero interest for out palates. We drove around town finally ending at a restaurant where we had only previously eaten one time before. The previous time the restaurant had been so smoke filled that we did not enjoy our dinner. Since the smoking ban has taken effect, we thought we would give it one more try. 

Our waitress greeted us politely but it only took about 2 seconds for me to notice how filthy her shirt was. As a former busgirl, I can well appreciate how filthy your shirt can get. This shirt though looked like it hadn’t seen a washer in a week. Not to mention the gaping hole in the side of it that afforded me a view of her belly and navel. Who knew? Dinner and a show!

Shortly after we had placed our order the girl came back with a cracker basket and mom and talked until our dinner arrived. It was alright, nothing to write home about. As we were finishing our meal the manager came over and proceeded to chew the girl out, something about bread, and as she left he stood at the side of our table making chit chat. That is when it happened. The owner/manager reached down and I am guessing had an itch that couldn’t wait. I have never been so grossed out in my life. That was at eye level man! UUGGGHHH! More than being grossed out, I was totally mortified. I could not look this man in the eye. Thankfully we were at the end of our meal and it was time to go. Although walking out, I admit I said a fervent prayer that he had not had to step in as a cook.

My second bit of public nastiness/ rudeness came when I was trying to take an online test at school. Normally I work upstairs in the Business Division labs. No one speaks; you can get your work done. It’s great. This day however, I had a hankering for a window seat, so I headed to the library. I went in and found a lovely seat right by a window. In the next hour or so the sun would be setting and I would have a nice scene to look at. I went in and sat down, checked my e-mail and soon was ready to start in on my tests.

The thing about these tests, they are timed. If you start it you have to finish it or you fail. I am not a fan of failing. A few questions into my second and final test I noticed an odor. I looked about for a source but only saw this older woman sitting two seats down, beating up the keyboard, typing. Surely not I thought and went back to my work. I noticed the odor again. What the heck? I tried focusing again. A question later I notice some movement out of the corner of my eye. That woman, that old and funky woman had just lifted her leg, broke the sound barrier. No way. That is not what I just saw. I shook my head and tried not to inhale. Any doubt however was squashed when a few minutes later she popped, locked, and dropped once more.  I ask you now, who does this?? To make matters worse she was to my right and lifting the left leg. I finished my test as quick as I could and I got the heck out of there. A friend later asked me why I didn’t say something. I could only respond with, I would have but I didn’t want to get that close with an open mouth.

 

