Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Everyone has their own demons. I have yet to meet a person who doesn’t. No matter how put together someone is, with the right words, they can lose it at the drop of a hat. They haunt us, never really going away, only lurking to come out at the worst possible time.

I have been lucky I have banished most of my demons. Either with time or a lot of realization they have moved on. Only one still lingers and it is by far the hardest one. I feel like this last one is a hybrid of a couple that I used to have, and they just morhped into this dark beast that has no remorse at cutting my heart out.

Time heals a lot of wounds. It puts distance in between you and the horrific events that have altered your life. The demons though, at least some of them, aren’t fazed by time. They grow steadily accumulating any little detail of your life necessary to their growth, until before you know it that nagging voice has become a beast you aren’t sure you can control.

This song reminds me of the demons that haunt and even in the darkest of those times that there is a light at the end of the tunnel and that there is comfort still left in the world.

Spend all your time waiting
for that second chance
for a break that would make it okay
there’s always some reason
to feel not good enough
and it’s hard at the end of the day
I need some distraction
oh a beautiful release
memory seeps from my veins
let me be empty
oh and weightless and maybe
I’ll find some peace tonight

In the arms of the angel
fly away from here
from this dark cold hotel room
and the endlessness that you fear
you are pulled from the wreckage
of your silent reverie
you’re in the arms of the angel
may you find some comfort here

So tired of the straight line
and everywhere you turn
there’s vultures and thieves at your back
the storm keeps on twisting
you keep on building the lies
that you make up for all that you lack
it don’t make no difference
escaping one last time
it’s easier to believe
in this sweet madness oh
this glorious sadness that brings me to my knees

In the arms of the angel
fly away from here
from this dark cold hotel room
and the endlessness that you fear
you are pulled from the wreckage
of your silent reverie
you’re in the arms of the angel
may you find some comfort here
you’re in the arms of the angel
may you find some comfort here

