Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Being a good parent doesn’t stop at 18, just ask my Mom. My Mom is an amazing person she has the patience of Job with her kids. She is the epitome of unconditional love. I would be blessed to turn out to be an eighth of the woman she is.

My Mom has taught me more life lessons than I can count. I could probably start a whole blog of just Momisms. She has taught me things like pick your battles and not to stress over what I can’t change when accidents happen.

Pick your battles. Such a simple phrase. I have learned to take this one to heart. When I was younger, I had ill-moderated passions. I was passionate about everything from adoption to human rights to no person feeling left out or behind. I was easily wound up by life’s injustices.

I would come in from work or school and be upset over something small and my Mom would just say to me “Pick your battles.” If I fussed over everything, then when it was really imperative for me to be passionate no one would give it the attention it deserves, because I had cried wolf too many times before.

This sort of knowledge is very powerful. It’s a tough balance learning to measure which battles to fight or to set aside. I have learned most aren’t worth fighting. Seriously is it really worth it to bring out the verbal WMD’s just because your spouse didn’t load the dishwasher “your way”? Meh, probably not.

No human is perfect. We all try to do our best but we invariably are able to screw up just about anything. This is where the second life lesson Mom taught me comes in handy. Accidents happen, don’t stress over what you can’t change. She is so right.

You can’t change the fact that the basement flooded with sewer water, you just can only call the insurance company. You can’t change the fact that the oven blew up, you can only be thankful that there is enough money in the bank to go get a new one. You can’t change the fact that there is a gallon of blue paint on the floorboards of the car; you can only do your best to clean it up.

This is a skill that she had that I truly admire. In the worst of times, she can look at the big picture and point out the positive. She picks up and rolls on. She forgives the actions of her children and she loves us despite our many faults.

I will never be able to tell her how much I love her. There aren’t enough words to say God knew what he was doing when he picked you to be my mother.

 

Thanks God. I owe you one.

