Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Yes, that’s right, music blogging. First there was photos and now music. Who knows maybe someday I might even blog about a book or two!

For now though, I want to share with you Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2. This is hands down one of my all time favorite pieces, the second movement in particular. It is gorgeous, haunting, elegant and breathtaking. It is one of those pieces that when you listen to it, especially the first part of the second movement you want to close your eyes so that you capture the nuance of each note.

To me there is just some music that signifies a moment in my week. This concerto should be played on a rainy Sunday afternoon while you are lying on the couch, eyes closed. You want to breathe with the music, soak it in and let it take you way to that magical haunting world that is Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No. 2. While today is not a Sunday, it is a rainy Saturday and I felt inspired to listen to this piece and I wanted to share it with you.

I am including the videos for all three movements. My particular favorite is the second movement. Brilliant.

 

 

 

