Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Happy Thanksgiving WordPress world!

I have so much to be thankful for this year. I have a wonderful people who love me and will support me through thick and thin. I have a house, a car, and I do not lack for a thing that really matters in this life.

I have spent my Thanksgiving vacation with my family. While there have been ups and downs and stops and starts, we have had a good time. As a matter of fact, here in a few minutes I will be having some pumpkin pie.

Right now the economy is still in the crapper and soon Obama will be announcing about sending more troops to Afghanistan. This may be the last holiday a few families will have their whole family together. For me, knowing that, makes my holiday all the more precious.

Today I watched for hours on various stations members of our troops saying hello to their families. In the back of my mind I knew that those men and women are only a small portion of the men and women who are serving. As I have said before, I can never thank them enough. What I can do is pray and remember them, and I do. Daily. If not for them, our country would be a very different place. How do you say thank you to someone who allows you to continue to have the freedom of being an American? How do you say thank you to someone for giving you the gift of security. A gift that I feel is a lot of times largely forgotten.

In the aftermath of 9/11 everyone had a healthy appreciation of this attitude. This year on Veteran’s day I saw fewer than a dozen flags on homes. That is pathetic. We need to show that we are thankful and we do that by remembering. They carry a gun in danger so everyone can carry groceries in safety. They risk their lives so that we can do as we please with ours.

To all the men and women, from the bottom of the hearts of my family and I, thank you. It’s not enough, those words will never fully express my feeling, but those are the only words our language has. Please know that we are praying for you and hoping that you are staying safe, keeping strong, and will come home safe and soon.

 

Happy Thanksgiving.

