Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank you to Dana from Mamalogues for the inspiration for this blog. Dana is one of my favorite writers. I have read her work for a long time now, and on more than one occasion she has made me laugh, cry and think outside of my own little box.  Her latest column, encourages her readers to come up with things they would want to fling, or not, in a trebuchet.

Here is my list:

Things to fling:

Engineering Specifications manuals. I hate you, I loathe you, and I despise you. You make my world a boring and colorless place. You make my neck ache and my eyes go weak.

People who stink at the gym before they start working out.

People who think it’s cool to drive like an idiot when there is ice on the ground. I don’t want to die because you need toilet paper at Wal-Mart.

People who get way too nosey about my business. Despite the internet, Jerry Springer, and reality TV there are still some things that are private.

Things to not fling

My family. Whether we share blood ties or not, I am blessed to have so many people in my life who love me.  I aspire to one day actually deserve them.  I have learned that last names and DNA do not make family, love and trust make family. I could not be the woman I am without my support group.

My job. I was out of work for a long while and I am so glad to have found a job that caters to my love of detail.

My faith. Through all that life has brought me, it is the one thing that has remained constant and unwavering. All I had to do was hang on and pray just a bit harder, and let the one who knows more than me do what He does best.

The only other person on the planet I know who is up at five a.m. and willing to discuss questions like  “If you were alive in Jesus’ day and raised Jewish, would you have broken with your faith to follow His teachings, or would you have seen Him as a sort of cult leader?” Thank you for never making me feel silly, and for always encouraging my sense of curiosity. Your view on life has changed mine and made me a better person for it.

My new cell phone.  I can now text without having to push the same button multiple times.

This  wonderful song that has helped me through rough days: 

also love the shot of the Arch at around the 2:09 minute mark.

