Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I know that this will be a rather silly post, but I am feeling a bit silly, so lets just roll with it, shall we?

I do not understand the fascination with mangoes. Can someone please explain it to me? I have tried mangoes all sorts of ways, and I am really just not a fan. I can have fruit salad and I will be chomping along, mmm, pear, tasty peach, tart pineapple, and then I hit this bit of something that is harder than the peach and not nearly as tasty and sweet and oh, it must be the mango.

I have tried to be fair to the mango. I have tried it raw, juiced, with cream, in candies and I still do not like it. It has an odd, acidic, peppery sort of taste to it to me. Today I was at the grocery store and they had these fruit cups that I like and I was selecting which ones I wanted to purchase. I made sure to get some of the citrus mix, which is grapefruits and oranges, peaches, pineapple and then I hit on one that had mangoes. It looked so tasty, but I knew that the appeal would turn to disgust the moment I bit into the funkiness that is the mango.

I love fruit. Cantaloupe, honeydew, watermelon, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, blueberries, (cherries are a little shady), grapes, apples, oranges, pomegranates, pears, bananas, kiwi, peaches, nectarines. Summer time is like a fruit buffet. I love it. I love the seasons of fruit. Peach season, strawberry season, apple season. But, in my house, it is never mango season. I walk past it int the store. It looks tasty, I should like it. So many people love this fruit. What is it I am not seeing, am I doing something wrong? I stare at it and eventually I move on, not encouraged enough to try it one more time.

So, I am looking for suggestions here. Am I doing this wrong? How can improve my mango detection skills? Are some mangoes better than others? How do you cut the stinking thing without obliterating it? Any advice would be appreciated, but until then, mangoes and I will continue our stare-down in the supermarket.

