Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

On a recent trip to the St. Louis History Museum I viewed the exhibition “Vatican Splendors”. It was really amazing to witness. I spent about three hours there and I feel like I could go back for another visit. There was a tremendous amount of art work on display. Paintings, robes,  furniture, sculpture,silver, and drawings just to name a few.

Then there were the mosaics, incredible mosaics. Mosaics never cease to amaze me.  To me, it is such a talent to see a landscape, a face, an object, or a scene from life from a pile of broken rubble and tile.

These artists do, and in such a magnificent way. Beyond all of that, there is also the time and patience of selecting just the right pieces. These artists created light, shadows, and darkness from tile. From trash to treasure came faces of angels and saints.

Seeing all of this triggered a memory for me. I had listened to a podcast earlier in the week called Finding Beauty in a Broken World. In it, the author Terry Tempest Williams talks about being guided by the world of mosaics, and her experience in taking a mosaics class. She made the comment how mosaic artists are healers. They take something that is broken and they make it whole again. That podcast was a special podcast to hear for me. In it, I saw the author as a healer. She met a young boy while she was traveling in Rwanda doing work there. She asked him about his goals and dreams. His dream was to acquire an education, once his brothers and sisters had one. Terry found a way to make that happen. She healed his need for education.

I have often written of giving back to God and how I struggle with that. While listening to this, I was struggling with that again. Until I listened to the wise words of this young boy’s mother. Before Terry took him to the states for his schooling, they went to see his mother. As it turned out they were in the middle of a transfer ceremony with his parents.  His mother told her that she was his biological mother, and that Terry will now be his developmental mother, educate him. At the end of the ceremony, she said how can you let your son go. His mother responds with “God loves my son more than I do.” That hit me so hard. I realized that no matter what, no matter how much I worry over those I love, God loves them more than I do, and I have to let go. I have to trust that God loves them more than I do. That seems so unfathomable because the love I have feels so overwhelming, but I must have faith.

When I started listening to this podcast I never expected it to so radically change my  perception of how I view love and the love I have for my family and friends. Here is the link, check it out. I can’t promise you will find your own turning point, but I can bet if you let it, you will be inspired.

Finding Beauty in a Broken World, Terry Tempest Williams

