Tags

, , ,

When I read the summary of this book, I was intrigued. After reading the book, I am not so sure it is one that I would recommend. First, I felt I battled to get through this book. I was waiting for something to happen. I felt like rather than this book being a cohesive story, it was fragmented happenings. I liken it to be like a dangling charm bracelet and the reader goes from one charm to the next rather than in one flowing circle. 

The character of Charlie Kate was interesting, but by the time I was 3/4 of the way through I was a bit tired of her always being right and a bit bored of her granddaughter’s hero worship. I mean, she was a fantastic, not-of-the-norm woman. Great. Awesome. But did that mean the other females had to be chicken livers? 

The daughter Sophia, I felt the author tried too hard to make her the opposite of Charlie Kate. At the same time however, I feel that her POV was rather swept under the rug. She was, to me, deemed as immature and therefore not as worth the trouble of getting to know.
The author routinely mentions her and Charlie Kate getting into spats, but didn’t go into the dialogue or get into her head to make her more dimensional. 

I felt like the granddaughter’s character Margaret was more developed, but frankly, she was dull. She had no pizazz. It seems as though Charlie Kate got all the vim and vigor and by the time Margaret came around she was the equivalent of a den mother before she got out of high school. Also,the romance that developed between her and the soldier was rather unbelievable. Are we really supposed to swallow whole that just because she sat and stared at the man that was cause for him to find her so fascinating he was ready to schedule a date with her, let alone 3? Farfetched is a good word to describe that situation. 

All in all, I am not sorry I read the book, but I dont think it would make it into the top ten list of books I would tell others to read.

