It has been so long since I have written on this site, it almost feels foolish to start again. I had a moment tonight in which I was thinking about the last few years, and I thought I would look at my blog to see where I was “back then”.

It seems hard to believe that it was four years ago I was posting semi-regularly on here. It feels like half a life-time. Since I have been away I have started a full-time job that most days I love. I’ve dealt with family issues, including the death of my grandpa in late 2013. I miss him everyday.

I have also begun the process of graduate school for my MLIS. It has made life busier for sure, but it is a step that is necessary in order to make more money in this profession.

I feel like I have changed a great deal in the last couple of years. I went from a harried college student who loved to thrift and take photos to someone who takes a harder look at the world around her and is more focused on streamlining the amount of “stuff” in her life. There is only so much “stuff” a person needs, physically, emotionally and mentally.

I have found it harder to completely unwind. Increasingly it is more difficult to let the day go. I find I need a release. The last few days I have done some major journaling to let all the random thoughts escape in a place where only I can see them.  I also believe it might be time to revisit this blog. I won’t make any promises about regular posts, but new posts, and more frequent posts for sure. It is just time.

I believe this blog has taken a melancholy tone, and I don’t mean for it too. I am just feeling contemplative. It’s 1:30 am and I have the sound of Ben Webster in the background. Summer is starting to arrive in all of its full glory, so who knows, maybe I will take the show on the road to the front porch for a blog in the near future.

Until then…

